Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
sfksg
New Contributor

VDOM establish--what happens to my current settings?

We have a need to use VDOMs, which I'm not currently using. I have a fairly extensive configuration (IPSec, VPN clients, email and web filtering, etc.).  When enabling  VDOMs, what exactly happens to my current configuration?  If I have all that sort of logic set up, how disruptive is it going to be?  I'd like to get my current config going in a single VDOM before I start experimenting with an additional VDOM.  

The documentation is kind of unclear about this, so forgive me if this is a FAQ that I just can't locate a good answer to.  I'm a total newbie with VDOMs, and don't have an extra Fortigate to use in a lab so I'm unfortunately experimenting with production here.  Thanks in advance!

- Steve

1 Solution
Toshi_Esumi

According to Fortinet SE the problem mentioned (bug #0295291) affected only to FG60D. I just got an answer. So you're probably ok.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Toshi_Esumi
SuperUser
SuperUser

When you enable vdom-admin in config system global, everything you have now should go into "root" vdom and nothing should break.

emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

everything you have now should go into "root" vdom

Actually everything that's built before vdom-enable is already in  "root" vdom to begin with . Nothing goes into root and the meer enabling  of  vdom support does not change any existing cfg.

What happens,  1> the  individual  vdom cfgs files are created ( this how you do per-vdom backup  btw ) 2> and now you can create new vdom 3> ( vdom  root can NOT be deleted )

PCNSE 

NSE 

StrongSwan  

PCNSE NSE StrongSwan
Toshi_Esumi

Obviously I don't know the architecture of FortiOS. Sorry.