Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
watl
New Contributor

Trying to understand the packet flow when using Fortigate Firewall

Hi,

I am new to Aruba Switches and Fortigate Firewalls and trying to understand the flow of a packet.

We have NBN which connects into our WAN switch. The WAN switch connects into our core switch.

The core switch connects to a Fortigate Firewall and connects into our Edge Switches.

On the core switch the default route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 <ip address>.

This <ip address> is configured inside Fortigate under the Aggregated Link as an IP Address for a Virtual LAN.

If a host connected to an edge switch pinged google.com would the packet be sent to the core switch and then
be passed to the Fortigate firewall and then sent to a Fortigate SD-Wan Internet Zone?

What would the the response packet do?

Any guidance is much appreciated!

6 REPLIES 6
mpeddalla
Staff
Staff

Hello  @watl ,

Thank you for contacting the Fortinet Forum portal.

From my understanding of topology :

User --- edge switch --- FortiGate --- core switch L3 ---- ISP WAN router -- Internet

-Correct me if I am wrong with the flow. If the user PC pings google the request goes to FortiGate based on routing configuration, and you have it forwards further accordingly.

-The best way is to try ping and run sniffer on Fortigate so that you can understand which interface packet leaves and if the ping reply is coming back or not based on that you could proceed further to inspect packet flow :

Diagnose sniffer packet any "host x.x.x.x and icmp" 4 0 l

-here x.x.x.x is user PC

Best regards,

Manasa.

If you feel the above steps helped resolve the issue, mark the reply as solved so that other customers can get it easily while searching for similar scenarios.

Rajan_kohli
Staff
Staff

Hi @watl,

The best tools to check packet flow in Fortigate are Sniffer and flow filter.