Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
SecurityPlus
Contributor II

Switch Trunk Group - Hyper-V Server

I’m relatively new to Hyper-V Server and to managing FortiSwitches via a FortiGate

FortiGate 60F on firmware 7.0.9

Pair of S224E switches on firmware 7.2.2 connected via fortilink

Dell PowerEdge T740 server running Windows Server 2022 with Hyper-V Server role. Hosting 2 Windows Server 2022 VM’s

The host server has 4 NIC ports, 2 each 10G and 2 each 1G

Would like to use a Trunk via the FortiGate switches with one Ethernet connection coming from each switch going to the 2 10G ports on the Dell PowerEdge R740 Server. Would like to do this for greater reliability and potentially greater networking speed.

I created a Trunk Group via the FortiGate on the FortiSwitches as follows:

1. Click New, Trunk Group
  2. Name Trunk Group
  3. MC-LAG, click Enabled
  4. Mode, click Active LACP
  5. Click 2 ports from right navigation, click OK
  6. Click OK

I then created a NIC Team in the Windows Server Host as follows:

1. Name Team, i.e. NicTeam-01
  2. Verify desired team member are checked
  3. Select Teaming mode: LACP
  4. Load balancing mode: Dynamic (verify correct setting)
  5. Standby adapter: None (verify correct setting)
  6. Click OK
  7. Click refresh on Local Server to view updated NIC team setting

When I tried to create a Hyper-V virtual switch using the host Virtual Switch Manager I don’t see the NicTeam-01 listed in Hyper-V Virtual Switch Manager. The only item I found that might relate to this NicTeam-01 is titled Microsoft Network Adapter Multiplexor Driver. Is this proper title for this NIC Team?

When I click OK to create the Virtual Switch, I get the following error:

Error applying Virtual Switch Properties changes

Failed while adding virtual Ethernet switch connections.