Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
polarpanda
New Contributor II

Virtual Server Cannot Connect to Outside

Hi there,

I'm new to fortigate. I am trying to figure out why a virtual server stuck at firewall without denied policy setup. It used to work. When I did traceroute on the server, it stopped at the firewall. I don't see any policy to deny the server. Is there any other troubleshooting I can do? Thank you. 

19 REPLIES 19
_aey_
New Contributor

Hi,

Can you check the logs ? When you write source and destination IP addresses in the logs filter, pls check the policy column and see the matched policy name. If the traffic match with deny policy, you should create a new policy to allow traffic.

polarpanda
New Contributor II

engineer56 wrote:

Hi,

Can you check the logs ? When you write source and destination IP addresses in the logs filter, pls check the policy column and see the matched policy name. If the traffic match with deny policy, you should create a new policy to allow traffic.

Thank you for replying my post, aey. Yes, I checked the logs and found the policy. It's the group from inside to outside internet with accepted source ip "all" (0.0.0.0/0) to destination ip "all" (0.0.0.0/0).

ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

hi,

it works the other way around: without any ALLOWING policy there won't be any traffic. There's an implicit DENY ALL policy at the end of the policy table, invisible.

If you do have an outbound policy, be sure to have NAT checked (to the WAN's interface address) or reply traffic won't make it back to the FGT.

Ede

"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
Ede"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
polarpanda
New Contributor II

ede_pfau wrote:

hi,

it works the other way around: without any ALLOWING policy there won't be any traffic. There's an implicit DENY ALL policy at the end of the policy table, invisible.