Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
johntampac
New Contributor

Route/grant access from a Site to Site VPN to another Site to Site VPN

Hello All,

This is my first time to be here hope that I could also contribute something in this forum. Right now I will need your help.

My scenario is this:

Our company have 2 offices  Main and a Remote Branch. Both are geographically far from each other. Both sites are currently connected with an IPsec Site to Site VPN, both sites are using FortiGate firewalls. Because of this, the remote branch can access services/servers in the Main branch. Recently we acquire Azure services, we placed some of our servers in Azure. The main branch have a Route based VPN Tunnel to Azure, so the main branch can access the servers in Azure. My problem is with the remote branch it cannot access the azure servers. Although this problem can be solved by creating a VPN tunnel between Azure and the remote branch, the management is reluctant to do this because of the addition cost. Because of this, I need the remote branch to access Azure via Main branch existing VPN tunnel to Azure. I have tried but I failed, I was not even sure if i was a doing it in a correct direction. I've been struggling with this for a while now, that is why I'm here seeking for your help on how  this can be don in FortiGate.

Additional Info:

Main Branch is using: FortiGate 200E

Remote Branch is using: FortiGate 50E

Hope you can help me. Please also see attached image for the diagram

Regards

John

5 REPLIES 5
Toshi_Esumi
SuperUser
SuperUser

I don't know about Azure side but assume it's just adding another or more subnets to the tunnel with the Main to pass the traffic for the remote branch. As you can find many discussions in this forum similar to your case, hub-and-spoke, you just need to take care of three things over the existing tunnel between main and remote.

[ul]