Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
PC88
New Contributor

New Fortigate Setup

Hi All,

I'm very new to the Fortigate product and I have been testing it in a lab environment with a basic setup which is working fine.

I'm looking to moving this into the production environment which will initially need to have communications between our internal networks and external networks with the ability to later use it for external access to Sharepoint & Skype for Business internal servers. (I think this makes sense)

The current setup of the network is Cisco 3750's doing all the routing of the network, there are multiple VLANs so it isn't as simple as one network.

I was wondering if anyone had some tips / pointers of what direction to go with the Fortigate to do this? And what needs to be configured.

Many thanks for your time.

PC 

3 REPLIES 3
ede_pfau
SuperUser
SuperUser

hi,

I think you shouldn't worry too much. At this initial deployment, look at the FGT as a router. Connect a VLAN trunk from your core switch to (one of) the internal interface(s) on which you have previously created the VLAN gateways.

Routes to the VLANs will be created automatically (check with the Routing Monitor). Then (probably) this traffic will go out the WAN port via the default route.

Make sure you have at least one policy per VLAN-WAN port pair to allow outbound traffic, and enable NAT on it.

This should enable basic internet access for the VLANs envolved.

At a later stage, create one VIP (Firewall > Virtual IP) for each internal server which is to be reached from the internet, either with or without port translation. Servers like this are usually connected to a separate port on the FGT, forming a DMZ. Use the VIP in a policy ('wan1' -> 'internal' or 'dmz', source address 'all' -> VIP) to allow traffic in and to enable the VIP/address translation.