Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
jhuizi
New Contributor II

Fortigate VM ESXi

Hello all

I am new to Fortigate, having some experience with Cisco ASA. But my company has switched to Fortinet and we are now a Fortinet partner.

In my home LAB I have a Cisco ASA 5505 which is EOL for some years now, so I want to switch to Fortigate. I have installed the ESXi 7.4.2 and this seems OK.

Now I am notified that there is a new version (7.4.3) but it seems I can't upgrade, or even re-install, is this correct?

As already mentioned, I am new to this, so this could be a rule

My company is going to buy a Fortigate F40 for my home LAB, so the ESXi is only temporary

Thanks 

Jan H.

9 REPLIES 9
rtanagras
Staff
Staff

Hi @jhuizi - Please correct me if I'm wrong, but from what I understand, you would like to upgrade the FortiOS from 7.4.2 to 7.4.3. If so, yes, that's possible for ESXi. You can get the VM image from support.fortinet.com > support > VM Images. Select the platform (VMWare ESXi) and then choose 7.4.3. The file that you can download is FGT_VM64-v7.4.3.F-build2573-FORTINET.out.

Full upgrade instructions can be found here: https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/7.4.2/administration-guide/596131

Simply log in to the FortiGate and navigate to System > Firmware & Registration. Select the FortiGate, and click Upgrade. Since this method is manual, select the File Upload Tab to upload the downloaded image, then press Confirm and Backup Config to proceed.

An alternative method is quite simple: navigate to the same path System > Firmware & Registration. Then click either Latest or All Upgrades. Select a firmware version and click Confirm and Backup Config.

Hope this helps!

Best,
Ricky
jhuizi
New Contributor II

Hello Ricky

I tried that before, but I get an error like this: