Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Richard_one
New Contributor

Forticlient and EMS config questions

Hello, I am new to Fortigate and struggling with setting up forticlient access.  I know what I want, but in going through all of the Fortinet documentation I just can't find the exact solution I need. I have a fortigate running 5.2.7 and also have EMS.  I basically want to do an assessment of my laptops running Forticlient before they are allowed to connect to the SSLVPN using Forticlient. 1.  When a laptop connects from the internet, before I allow connection to my internal network I want to make sure that the forticlient AV is up to date and the firewall is active. If not, I do not want it to connect. 2.  After a laptop connects with forticlient, I want it to be able to register it's status with the internal EMS server.  The many examples in fortigate documentation show how to get it to register with the fortigate itself, but I am using EMS. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks!

1 Solution
Huey
New Contributor III

I'll post anyway in hopes you can give me insight into your EMS deployment:

The host check is fairly straightforward.  It looks for registry keys so if somethings in the registry then you can grant access based on it being there.  We look for domain membership and the presence of McAfee AV.

Some notes on Host Check

Although Windows built-in firewall does not have a GUID in root\securitycenter or root\securitycenter2, we can use a registry value to detect the firewall status.

If Windows firewall is on, the following registry value will be set to 1:

KeyName: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\StandardProfile

ValueName: EnableFirewall

So we could use the registry-value-check feature to define the Windows Firewall software by the following cli:

config vpn ssl web host-check-software