Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
rvirgin
New Contributor

VPN to remote site with dedicated local interface port - FortiGate 40F to FortiGate 40F

I am a newbie and please forgive what is likely a silly question.

My office has an Fortigate F40 as our router and DHCP server.

I have a customer site where we have installed an F40 and use FortiClient to access their network. This all works great.

All I want to do is assign our local port 3 as a connection to our client's network on a full-time basis. I will be connecting equipment for testing purposes and have no need nor desire to access this equipment locally through the network. I ran through the steps from the cookbook, but somehow, I ended up exposing IP addresses at both sites to each other and caused some real mayhem. (Somehow added a 1-to-1 NAT within our local DHCP range, that was fun!)

Could I get some advice?

rvirgin_0-1672762716605.png

Footnote; I will be exploring options for additional education on this product to avoid dumb questions in the future.

Any help will truly be appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7
gfleming
Staff
Staff

Sounds like you want to use a site-to-site IPSec VPN between the Office and Customer site? This would provide an always-on tunnel without requiring FortiClient VPN to connect. Is that right?

I'm unsure what your plans are with port3? You want any devices connected to port3 to have access to customer site over the site-to-site VPN?

The simplest thing to do would be to create the tunnel and use Firewall Polices to restrict/allow who gets access to what from the Office to the Customer site.

Only issue right now I see is you have some overlapping IP address space. The Customer site 192.168.0.0/20 subnet overlaps with the office 192.168.1.0/24 subnet.

You will need to use NAT configuration to overcome this or, ideally use a new IP subnet at the Office site that does not overlap.

Cheers,
Graham
rvirgin