Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Kenundrum
Contributor III

Transparent Mode Question

I' m looking to buy a new firewall to segment and inspect some datacenter traffic without disrupting existing networking and routing and so we' re looking at something to run in transparent mode. My current employer has no fortinet equipment but i have a lot of experience with it in the past so we' re doing a vendor selection process between a few manufacturers. I don' t have much experience running with transparent mode and something came up todat during my call with a fortinet rep that didn' t in other calls. i' m hoping to get some quick guidance from the community. We' re looking to set up something similar to the diagram below i quickly mocked up. We want to have protected servers connect directly to a fortigate and then have the fortigate use either a 10G uplink port or aggregate a few 1G ports to attach to our primary switching infrastructure. The engineer on the call expressed concern that he had not seen anything set up that way ever and wanted to double check with others before stating that would work. Apparently he was concerned over the 1-to-1 port mapping that happens in transparent mode and didn' t know if it could do a 1-to-many. None of the other vendors expressed any concern over this. I have a test environment set up with a free linux software firewall installed on an old server and it was able to replicate this topology. 3 interfaces were bridged together with 2 servers plugged in and a third interface going out to a switch. The bridged interface needed an ip address on the same subnet in order to inspect traffic, but otherwise worked. Has anyone set something up like this before? i' m finding it hard to believe that this is not a common deployment scenario.

CISSP, NSE4

CISSP, NSE4
4 REPLIES 4
Carl_Wallmark
Valued Contributor