Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
nicko1977
New Contributor

New to Fortinet and SD-WAN

Hello,

I'm in the final choice for a SD-WAN solution, and Fortinet seems very interesting. But i have only a few demo and commercial inputs. 

I have a classic network with a HQ Datacenter, and a lot of remote sites, all connected with MPLS, no NAT and dynamic OSPF routing (manage by a Cisco L3 switch , and MPLS Link pass through an ASA Firewall). 

I want to add bandwidth in remote site with a second MPLS Link and a Internet Link for a total of 3 Wan Links. 

So could i have some real experience of SD-WAN architecture that can answer theses questions :

- i will have 1 MPLS 10MB + 1 MPLS 4MB + 1 INTERNET 10MB  ; can i put all 3 in one SD-WAN interface, and manage routing/priority with rules likes application / dst IP or TCP Port ? Exemple the main https application pass thru the 10MB MPLS wan interface ? 

- i have to create a VPN Tunnel on the Internet Wan Interface to the HQ ?

- Can the remote network behind the Fortinet (and SD-WAN) can be announce with OSPF ? 

- There is a central web interface to manage all the Fortinet ? 

Maybe some basic questions, but there is a lot of solution now and hard to make a choice ...

Thank's

3 REPLIES 3
emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

- i will have 1 MPLS 10MB + 1 MPLS 4MB + 1 INTERNET 10MB  ; can i put all 3 in one SD-WAN interface, and manage routing/priority with rules likes application / dst IP or TCP Port ? Exemple the main https application pass thru the 10MB MPLS wan interface ?   

No , that's not how it work, you Could apply MPLS10/4 and load-share and balance the traffic over those two links and the virtual-wan. Remember when you  use SD-WAN the  individual links are not configurable in  a policy

- i have to create a VPN Tunnel on the Internet Wan Interface to the HQ ?  

That should be doable in  FortiOS and with SD-WAN interface