Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
sergio7
New Contributor

Multicast Routing over MPLS - join multicast group behind a Fortigate fails

Hi,

I'm actually a beginner in Multicast Routing and could need some help with the configuration of a FortiGate 60F Firewall. My goal is actually to configure R-GOOSE.

FortiGate 60F v7.2.3

Cisco Router: IR1101-K9 (IOS XE 17.06.04)
Cisco Switch: IE-3400-SP2S (IOS XE 17.09.02)

R-GOOSE is a version of the popular IEC 61850 peer-to-peer communications method that can be used for wide-area protection and control applications. While the principles remain the same, R-GOOSE uses UDP multicast as the transport mechanism.

R-GOOSE Applications in a Smart Grid (Dr. Alexander Apostolov)

My lab spreads over multiple sites, connected over MPLS Layer 3 VPN. Between PE and CE i'm using OSPF on all sites with the same VRF. In the MPLS Core i'm using OSPF for the Underlay Network.

Screenshot 2023-03-30 180654.png

To get multicast running over MPLS i followed the instructions from cisco. cisco link

I'm using PIM sparse-mode and configured a Rendezvous Point on both multicast routing domains. (VRF and MPLS CORE).

Multicast is working fine between the cisco routers. Here an example. The neighbour table of pim in my VRF and the test for multiple interfaces i joined to a multicast-address:

da.png

Here you can see that the firewall formed a pim neighbor with the R-PE16 router.

6.png

This is my actual multicast routing configuration on my fortigate:

2.png

Multicast Policy on FortiGate:

Screenshot 2023-03-30 185024.png

1) I've configured the wan1 interface, that is actually in the zone "DOMOT" with the multicast join of 239.1.1.1.

Ping's not arriving at that interface. PING is activated on the Interface settings.

2) I also configured a router an connected it to the cisco switch (VLAN30 Access Port).