Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
ElizabethC
New Contributor II

Help using internal DHCP server to assign IP addresses

Split-tunnel SSL-VPN is working fine for the users, with no access issues. However the FortiGate is assigning the IP address instead of our internal DHCP server so devices are not being listed on our DHCP server and are not getting a record in DNS. I cannot manage the machines as I need to. They're basically invisible everywhere except on the FortiGate. How do I pass the responsibility for assigning IP addresses to our internal DHCP server? Our domain controllers are on xxx.xxx.1.x and the FortiGate is assigning xxx.xxx.10.x. A DHCP scope has been setup for the .10 addresses although obviously it's empty.  

I am not a FortiGate expert, but there have been many calls with both Fortinet support and local IT support and they both just keep poking at things hoping something works. Hopefully there's enough info in the images to help. Thank you.

SSL-VPN Settings 1.jpg

5 REPLIES 5
adambomb1219
SuperUser
SuperUser

JAlesi
New Contributor

https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-SSL-VPN-with-external-DHCP-Server/ta-p/215...

I believe this tech document may help to achieve what you are looking for.  Be aware that this is a fairly newly implemented feature (as of 7.2.4) and I have also seen other users on various forums stating that they had some issues with this setup as well, so your mileage may vary. HTH!

ElizabethC
New Contributor II

Fortinet support just reminded me that they had already tried that option and the problem is with DHCP.