Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
meubanks
New Contributor

Fortigate and sFlow

Hi,

I am very new to Fortigate and I have been asked to look at enabling sFlow on a number of Fortigate firewalls as part of a monitoring strategy.

Unfortunately I have been informed that this has a negative effect on the Fastpath/Hardware Acceleration of the Fortigate and should not be used, can someone please advise.

Thanks in advance.

7 REPLIES 7
Adrian_Lewis
Contributor

I can't confirm it but that does sound valid as sFlow uses sampling which AFAIK would involve the CPU (in the same way as packet capturing/sniffing). If this is the case, you might want to look at 5.2 and Netflow which may not have the same issues but again, this is not a definitive answer.

meubanks
New Contributor

Hi Adrian,

Thanks for that, I do expect to get some CPU overhead but I was told that this would adversely affect the Fastpath traffic flow, which as I understand is meant to avoid using the CPU.  I have been looking everywhere for documentation that says don't use sFlow on fastpath interfaces or hardware accelerated interfaces and I can't find anything.

Thanks for you time

meubanks

Hi Ennoc,

We do use Netflow/IPFIX but sFlow tends to be lighter as it is more of a statistical tool sampling on 1 in N packets used for network weather maps. I have some doubt about the accuracy of the Fortigate sFlow implementation.

I came across this in the Fortigate OS Hardware Acceleration Handbook:

[size="3"]By default FortiOS does not record log messages for offloaded NP6 and NP4 sessions. This also means that traffic monitoring does not report correct session counts, byte counts and packet counts. [/size]

[size="3"]However, for NP6 processors you can use the following command to enable per-session accounting for each NP6 processor in the FortiGate unit.[/size]