Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Zulhardy
New Contributor

Fortigate 100D and 3 Internet connections.

Hi all   I work in a school with a main office that has three Internet connections and a 100D. Two are dynamic IP Internet that are to be configured in WAN Link Load Balancing. The 3rd is a static connection for the main office staff.   The two Dynamic IP internet have gateways as follows and are configured as WAN Link Load Balancing. 10.0.1.253 (WAN1) 10.0.2.253 (WAN2)   Static Route shows below and Internet works in the classroom environment when policy is set for Class Network to WanLinkLoadBalace interface and NAT enabled. 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 wan-load-balance   My Static IP line is below and configured as  201.128.148.254 (PORT1)   However when I configure a policy for the Office Network to Port 1 interface and NAT enabled. Nobody in the office can surf the Internet. When I connected my laptop to the router directly, I can surf the Internet.   Am I missing something? Do I need to add another static route or a policy route? Thanks for any help.  

3 REPLIES 3
ede_pfau
SuperUser
SuperUser

hi,

but if you configure a policy from Office Network to 'wan-load-balance' interface your staff can surf.

But the third line would not be used.

The problem is that the FGT - as a router - supports one default route only per VDOM.

There are 2 workarounds:

- you configure a policy route which diverts traffic from the Office Network (= source address) to the 3rd interface. Note that this route will not show up in the Routing Monitor.

- you put the FGT into VDOM mode to create one more firewall instance (a virtual Fortigate) and use the existing 'root' VDOM for your classroom networks and the new VDOM for the Office network. Each VDOM can support one default route which solves your problem.