Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Yoda1
New Contributor

Email filter with FortiOS 7.4

I am new to Fortigate, until now we used Sophos and Watchguard FWs and several products for Antispam.

A read a little about email filtering with 7.2 and now I installed the demo with 7.4 and I am wondering about the reduced ruleset in contrast to 7.2. The documentation says now:

FortiGuard-based filters

The FortiGate consults FortiGuard servers to help identify spammer IP address or emails, known phishing URLs, known spam URLs, known spam email checksums, and others. For more information, refer to the FortiGuard website.

There are five FortiGuard spam filtering options:

I miss the option to deny SPF failed mails, as well options to configure quarantine, allowed attachment types and so on. Beyond that, happens email filtering only on the local appliance or will some emails be uploaded to fortigate cloud services?

Is let's encrypt certificate autoenrollment for SMTP available?

Finally, is this product capable to filter company emails from spam with good results or should I consider another solution for professional email filtering?

Thank you

11 REPLIES 11
Stephen_G

Hello Yoda1,

Thank you for using the Community Forum. I will seek to get you an answer or help. We will reply to this thread with an update as soon as possible.

Thanks,

Stephen - Fortinet Community Team
Yoda1
New Contributor

thank you.

I played around a little and it looks to me like that:

- when I use protecting ssl server, own or let's encrypt certificates should be possible

- proxy mode is fine, more features for email filtering

- but deep inspection does not work in proxy mode, only in flow mode while using starttls

- in order to protect email servers with email filtering, starttls is a must have

- using flow mode for smtp reduces filtering options drastically

Maybe I did something wrong? Or is this a limitation?