Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
jvocaire
New Contributor

Dual IPSec tunnels and policy routes

I have a client that is trying to do something that I have never done before, and I cannot seem to come up with a way to make this work. The scenario is this. They have a remote branch that has two Internet connections (only two available). The first (cable) is fast, but unreliable and the second (DSL) is slow but reliable. The main site has one high speed very reliable connection. There are two tunnels, one for each connection at the branch. They would like almost all traffic to use the DSL and fail over to the cable (easy). But, they want some traffic (offsite backups) to use the cable primarily, and the DSL as backup. This is where I am running into a wall. I have a picture attached for reference, hopefully it makes more sense then the post. I have tried using policy routes on the 60D, but either I am not configuring it correctly (most likely) or it won' t work to choose which tunnel to use. Let me know what snippets of config you would like to see and I can post them. Thanks.
1 Solution
Federico_Vecchiatti
New Contributor II

I don' t know if it' s too late for an answer... In any case, policy route works on Ipsec interface if you assign an ip address to them. So in the policy routing in " Force route" you can specify the Ipsec local interface as outbound interface and the remote ipesc interface ip' s as gateway. This way the policy routing can works. Assign for example a x.y.z.w\30 to the local and remote ipsec interface, configure the firewall policy in order to allow traffic to this ip' s and it should works. Bye. Federico

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
ede_pfau
SuperUser
SuperUser