Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
lmsaeb
New Contributor II

Confused - IPV4 Rules and Allowing Traffic

Hi All, 

I am new to the Fortigate/FortiOS and having some issues wrapping my head around this scenario:

I have an external source - say x.x.x.x and I need to allow traffic from port 123 to an y.y.y.y. I add the IPv4 rule and it does nothing. Apparently, the only way this will work is if I add a Virtual IP mapping from x.x.x.x to y.y.y.y on port 636. The problem i that if I do that, any other source sending traffic on port 123 gets routed to y.y.y.y.

I have experience using a Sonicwall and it did not work like this. I only needed to add NAT when I really needed to map a public IP address to an internal one - i.e., public IP to a webserver on my DMZ. Otherwise, I just added a policy to allow the traffic into my network.

This does not make sense to me that I would to setup a NAT rule for this. 

Is this indeed the way it works?

5 REPLIES 5
James_G
Contributor III

Unless you have a publicly routeable IPv4 subnet range internally (unlikely - but I have seen in the past on very legacy networks) you are going to need some sort of NAT.

Can can limit the NAT to a specific port, and then also have a policy that only allows traffic from specific sources, that references said NAT.

ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

I'm a bit confused about port 123 and then again port 636...but that doesn't matter.

Policies allow traffic (session setup to be precise) from one interface to another, or, in fact, across the same interface if there are 2 subnets on it (e.g. via secondary address). It's not quite clear what your situation is.

x.x.x.x is an external address - so this is a source address. y.y.y.y on the other hand is a destination. If both are on directly connected subnets (one FGT port in each subnet) then routing is automatically set up, and you will only need a policy to allow traffic.