Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Donovan
New Contributor

Blocking Streaming Media

Hi all,

I am no professional at setting up Fortigate units, however I do have some experience, particularly using the web filter.

We are experiencing a problem at the moment, whereby all the sub-categories under Bandwidth Consuming are blocked, however streaming media websites are still accessible. I added YouTube under the rating overrides as another category which is blocked, however it is still accessible.

Is there anywhere else I need to look to check whether these websites are being allowed?

Thank you.

8 REPLIES 8
Christopher_McMullan

Are you employing deep inspection in the webfilter profile (in 5.0) and/or in the SSL/SSH inspection profile (5.0 and 5.2), or are you scanning unencrypted traffic only?

Regards, Chris McMullan Fortinet Ottawa

Donovan

Christopher McMullan_FTNT wrote:

Are you employing deep inspection in the webfilter profile (in 5.0) and/or in the SSL/SSH inspection profile (5.0 and 5.2), or are you scanning unencrypted traffic only?

I'm not sure...

Does this help?

Christopher_McMullan

Unless users were somehow able to establish an SSL connection to YouTube before the FortiGate was configured to scan for them...

In that case, we can't perform inspection on a truncated SSL exchange, only when it is a new session.

Could you test with a new client with an empty browser cache, just to provide a baseline example?

Donovan

Christopher McMullan_FTNT wrote:

Unless users were somehow able to establish an SSL connection to YouTube before the FortiGate was configured to scan for them...

In that case, we can't perform inspection on a truncated SSL exchange, only when it is a new session.

Could you test with a new client with an empty browser cache, just to provide a baseline example?

Hi Christopher,

I have tested on a new client.