Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
snowman386
New Contributor III

BGP Distance Question

Hey Everyone, Is it possible to modify the BGP distance of a network that is advertised by a fortigate? Here is background of my problem: First off, I am no BGP expert but I do have it setup and working fine advertising routes to our MPLS provider. The problem is that all the fortigates on our network show the distance of the learned BGP routes as 20, the default value from the documents i' ve found. I would like to be able to advertise the same network at two different sites but one having a higher distance (backup route). The only way i have been able to modify the BGP distance is by applying an access rule at one of the sites. The biggest problem is that this seems to only affect incoming routes, not outgoing routes. It would be much better if I could advertise the route with a higher distance so I only have to modify it on one router instead of every router that learns the route. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
11 REPLIES 11
emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

First off, I am no BGP expert but I do have it setup and working fine advertising routes to our MPLS provider. The problem is that all the fortigates on our network show the distance of the learned BGP routes as 20, the default value from the documents i' ve found. I would like to be able to advertise the same network at two different sites but one having a higher distance (backup route). The only way i have been able to modify the BGP distance is by applying an access rule at one of the sites. The biggest problem is that this seems to only affect incoming