Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Nascimento
New Contributor II

Two private subnets with each one accessing the Internet with a specific and different public IP

Hey guys!

I'm new to FortiGate with Central SNAT and I'm administering a FortiGate 500E firewall - FortiOS v6.4.13 build2092 (GA) - which today has a private network 10.xxx.0.0/22 accessing the Internet with a public IP address of 200.xxx.xxx .37 all working fine. But a new demand came up for me to create a subnet 10.xxx.3.0/24 to use as a guest network and access the internet with another public IP address like 200.xxx.xxx.38/28. I am not able to create the necessary rules in Central SNAT to allow this, at the moment all subnets are accessing the internet only with the firewall interface IP which is 200.xxx.xxx.37/28. Can anyone help me with some tips? Or would anyone know how to indicate a document that addresses a solution for this for me to study?

Thank you very much in advance.

JSN
JSN
1 Solution
Nascimento
New Contributor II

Solved using policy routing rules to work in complement

JSN

View solution in original post

JSN
4 REPLIES 4
Christian_89
Contributor III

Certainly! You're essentially looking to perform Source NAT (SNAT) based on the subnet of origin. In a FortiGate, you can achieve this with a Centralized SNAT Policy. Here's a step-by-step guide to achieving what you're aiming for:

### Step 1: Ensure the new subnet is properly routed
Before applying NAT rules, ensure that the new subnet \(10.xxx.3.0/24\) has the necessary route in place to reach the FortiGate. If the FortiGate is the default gateway for this subnet, then this is already taken care of.

### Step 2: Create Address Objects
1. Go to **Policy & Objects > Addresses**.
2. Create an address object for your main private network \(10.xxx.0.0/22\).
3. Create another address object for your guest network \(10.xxx.3.0/24\).