Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
purathal
New Contributor

Terminating IPSEC VPN tunnel with remote networks that has public IPs and private IPs

Hello,

I am completely new to Fortinet world and considering to get Fortinet 60D or Fortinet 70D where I will be required to setup a few IPSEC site-to-site tunnels on it. I need some expert advise on whether the following is feasible and how to go about configuring it (preferably via GUI and if you can point me to any documentation/video tutorial that's even better).

Following are my scenarios for required VPN setup (this is not a typical site-to-site setup involving private IPs). Please note the remote peer devices make/model could vary every time as we deal with new vendors at all times.

Scenario 1:

Remote Peer: Public IP

Remote Network: Public IPs/subnet

My Peer: Public IP

My Network: a few servers behind my Fortinet device that will have routable public IPs assigned to them

Requirement: Users on remote network need to be able to access the resources running on my network over the tunnel (only on certain allowed port numbers. For example: 80, 21 ... and all other ports to be blocked). My servers need to be able to communicate with remote network on all port numbers.

Scenario 2:

Remote Peer: Public IP

Remote Network: Private IPs/subnet

My Peer: Public IP

My Network: a few servers behind my Fortinet device that will have routable public IPs assigned to them

Requirement: Same as Scenario 1 - Users on remote network need to be able to access the resources running on my network over the tunnel (only on certain allowed port numbers. For example: 80, 21 ... and all other ports to be blocked). My servers need to be able to communicate with remote network on all port numbers.