Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
KuyaJerome
New Contributor

Modem to Fortigate Port Forwarding VPN

Hi,

I am very new to Firewalls, though I configured some with the help of video tutorials. Now we have one on our own, I'm planning to configure it for Remote VPN so we can easily access our office files anywhere specially when we're in the field since we are IT service providers. 

I followed the instructions from this link https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=5&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwjj3NiJ4N_e...

But I think this only applies when we are using the Public IP of our ISP. I set the WAN IP as DHCP. Now, I need the detailed instructions on how I can access our office LAN outside using Remote VPN. I think I have to port forward the Public IP of our router to the DHCP IP of the Fortigate. And I have no idea on how to do that. I hope I have someone I can talk with this.

Thanks and best regards,

Jerome

16 REPLIES 16
Tim_86
New Contributor III

Hi Jerome,

Am correct you are using NAT on your modem to your Fortigate?

You can configure SSL-VPN on a specific port like 10433.

There is an entire topic about this in the cookbook how to setup a SSL-VPN and a policy.

If you are using NAT on your modem you'll need to forward the SSL-VPN port to the WAN address your Fortigate received from your modem.

The most pratical would be if your Fortigate would receive a public IP.

This way you only have to follow the steps in the cookbook.

Kind regards,

Tim

KuyaJerome

Hi Tim,

Thank you very much for the quick reply. I have attached an image of our current setup. I hope this will clear it up. The link I provided from the cookbook uses the Public values of the router, so Forticlient can easily lookup the IP of the Firewall. While on our side, we used DHCP for the Firewall.

Tim_86
New Contributor III

Hi Jerome,

This is quite simple once you get the hang of it :D