Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
rezn0r
New Contributor

Communication between two subnets (wifi & lan)

Hello, This is probably a really simple thing to do but I am new to a lot of the routing issues on Fortigates. Everything currently in place works fine: LAN 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 relays an external DHCP server WIFI (protected with WPA2/TKIP) 10.10.80.0/255.255.255.0 acts as a DHCP server for the wireless clients Both reach the Internet fine. I set it up this way to keep the wireless clients (peoples' phones mainly) from filling up DHCP leases on our main DHCP server. We don' t mind employees who know the key to use the wifi for their devices. We also have a group of engineers who use the wifi for their laptops when not at their desks, such as in a conference room or in a lab. This is where my question comes into play. If I want to manage their systems or for them to reach a network share while they are wireless and on a 10.10.80.x IP, I can' t seem to do it. I was wondering what were both the best and and also the easiest (not assuming they are one in the same) ways to make this possible. After reading probably too many links and guides that weren' t doing exactly what I want to do I have probably made it too complicated on myself. I did make Firewall Addresses for both company-internal & company-wifi with matching ip/subnets and then made Policies allowing traffic to and from each but that didn' t seem to do the trick. I also started reading about software switches which sounded like they may be the right answer but I didn' t really want to dive deeper without being sure. I am guessing I am just overlooking something extremely simple. Thanks in advance
6 REPLIES 6
Dave_Hall
Honored Contributor

Without seeing the exact firewall policies and interface/dhcp server configuration, I would have to guess you may need to put in a static route to the wifi interface.