Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
zeronet
New Contributor

Best practice for thwarting port scanning?

I seem to get an awful lot of port scans to port 500, many/most on the same IP block.

I'm certain they're doing an overall scan of the network, but I've just implemented a notification alert on the following:

[ul]
  • SSL VPN login failure
  • IPsec tunnel errors[/ul]

via Log & Report > Email Alert Settings (300E model) so I can keep tabs if any of my users are having problems (or are the target of a brute force attack).

..so I'm most aware of the port 500 hits.  However, because these garbage notifications are bloating my inbox, I've overlooked legitimate login failures for my users, unintentionally.

What's the best approach to either stopping these scans from triggering an alert, or blocking the probes?

I'm fairly new to Fortinet products, so I'm not completely well-versed in the full capabilities of the firewall.

Possible approaches:

[ul]
  • Block the CIDR of the most frequent offenders for UDP 500 (may/may not be problematic, as it's on the Hurricane Electric network.. most of my users use a local ISP that is not HE - but issues may surface with travel)
  • Whitelist the CIDR's of my users for UDP 500 (which would make their foreign travel a headache for me)
  • Add an Intrusion Detection rule?*
  • Let them scan to their heart's content and filter the email after it hits my inbox (my least desirable solution as its kind of a band-aid)[/ul]

*I do have Intrusion Detection running, but I haven't yet setup a rule to target this behavior as I'm not entirely sure how the signatures and filters work.

Can anyone offer any suggestions?

• 1 Solution
    andrewbailey

Zeronet,

A DDoS policy on the WAN interface allows you to limit port scans. I've found that to be useful.