Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
wilson19
New Contributor

Best Design Options - Dual VPN & point to point fiber/ethernet connection

Hi All,

I'm new to Fortinet/Fortigates and so I have been reading a lot of Cookbooks the last week or so, but I thought I'd get some input here as well on designing this for automatic fail over and redundancy.

We have purchased two 200E units.  One will be located at a data center and the other at the main office.  At the main office, we have two internet connections and will have an Ethernet handoff from a local fiber provider that will give us a 1Gbps connection to the data center as well.  At the data center, we'll have one internet connection and the other side of the fiber/ethernet connection.

I wanted to make sure I'm on the right track here so I thought I'd run this by everyone to see if you have any additional thoughts.

Main Office:

Created SD-WAN Interface with two internet connections with performance SLA.

Created two VPN tunnels to data center with the individual internet connections and modified static route distances.

At Main Office and Data Center:

Created VPN tunnel to main office with single internet connection

Both Locations:

Once the point to point is delivered, I will add it to another interface and add another static route with a lower distance than the VPN(s).

I'll then add a system link-monitor to both ends of the point to point in order to monitor it for failure and automatically bring up the VPN.

Thanks,

Wilson

2 REPLIES 2
Toshi_Esumi
SuperUser
SuperUser

That would work. I would use a routing protocol like BGP between two locations though.