Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Baricz
New Contributor

Basics, where to put firewall in the network

Hello,

I hope I've chosen right forum department. I'm quite new to the topic and I need some help with understanding the basics of placing firewall in the network.

I have been assigned to a task of creating an example network including FortiGate firewall in GNS3. I managed to get FortiGate VM, gained access to web management by assigning an ip address to one of the ports and I have run out of ideas of what to do next.

My goal is to connect firewall and PC to one router on separate links (?). The PC is supposed to be the protected by the firewall on which I am going to create some example policies, filters etc. Also, PC should be directly accessible from outside of the router.

As far as I know, there is no way to make something like this: PC --- FW --- Router without setting up NAT on FW (PC would be unaccessible then). Because of that, I came up with an idea of connecting FW and PC directly to the router (so PC -- Router -- FW and the rest of the network connected to the router) and the thing is that I don't know how to set it all up now.

In another words, all traffic which comes to the router interfaces with destination ip address set on this PC, should be filtered, and then sent to this PC. And the same with opposite direction. Does it make sense at all? Are there any other ways to do this?

Sorry for asking kind of newbie questions but I've spent lots of time online looking for the solution and didn't find any satisfying one.

Thank you for any tips

Regards

2 REPLIES 2
ede_pfau
SuperUser
SuperUser

Hi,

and welcome to the forums.