Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
devon9
New Contributor

Additional Fortilink Connection to Managed Switch

I am new to managed fortiswitch configuration.

I currently have 60F Fortilinked to manage a 108E with the B port to the switch. Everything seems to be working, however I am worried about bandwidth issues over just the one link. Well, I tried to also connect the A port to the same switch, but the firewall froze up. I assume that having more than on fortilink to the same switch caused some sort of conflict. So, suggestions on how to expand the bandwidth between the firewall and the switch? Is adding an additional fortilink connection correct (and I just screwed it up), or would I be better off adding a connection between the switch-internal vlan and one of the firewall internal interfaces?

VidMate
1 REPLY 1
Faiza_Emam_Delhi
Contributor II

When it comes to expanding the bandwidth between your Fortinet Firewall and the managed FortiSwitch, there are a few options to consider.

1. Multiple FortiLink Connections: The FortiLink feature allows you to establish a secure connection between the firewall and the FortiSwitch. However, if connecting both the A and B ports of the FortiSwitch to the same switch caused the firewall to freeze up, it suggests a conflict or misconfiguration.

- Check the configuration: Ensure that the FortiLink settings on both the firewall and the switch are properly configured. Confirm that the switch port is configured as a trunk port and that the firewall's FortiLink ports are configured as switch mode interfaces.

- Verify switch compatibility: Double-check if the switch supports multiple FortiLink connections. Some switches may have limitations on the number of FortiLink connections they can handle.