Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
dave_macdonald
New Contributor

Wifi Enabled Smart Lighting - LIFX

Hi, (apologies for the long post)

Background info: I am a novice when it comes to Firewalls and even newer to Fortinet. Our office has a FortiGate 200E firewall. We have a need to set up a couple Wifi Enabled Smart Lighting bulbs and running into an issue where the Firewall is not allowing LIFX to pass through to register with their cloud server (v2.broker.lifx.co).  

We've determined that the bulbs are not the issue as they work on a home network as well as a mobile hotspot. Here is what Lifx support suggests:

"Ok. It might be easier, if possible, to just activate UPnP, or allow LAN connections on the whole, during setup of the lights. Technically, we do not support the enterprise style network you are connecting to, so I can help to the best of my ability, but it's clear the issue is with a router configuration, not with the light, or app. The cool part is, once cloud connected, LAN is not necessary, so you can turn off those router settings once setup is complete."

Seeing as how Fortinet doesn't support UPnP I contacted Fortinet via chat and was recommended to create a security policy and was sent the instructions.  I've followed them and created a Service and opened up the requested ports (56700 UDP & TCP) as well as creating a Policy under the IPv4 but still no luck in getting the app to properly register the device to allow control as intended. However, the device is being added to our network and I can see it getting an IP Address.  Please ask all the probing questions you need, apologies if my question is confusing.

any assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks for your help.

3 REPLIES 3
EMES
Contributor