Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
aw-sysadmin
New Contributor II

LDAPS issue, 'Can't contact LDAP server'

I am trying to enable LDAPS on our Fortigate 60F. We currently have LDAP to a DC working, but when I enable LDAPS over port 636 and click 'Test Connectivity' I get the error message 'Can't contact LDAP server'. This is before selecting a certificate.

I have imported a certificate from the Microsoft Intermediate CA in our domain, tried binding that to the setting but get the same error. I ran a packet sniffer to confirm the Fortigate is sending and receiving traffic to the DC over port 636.

I also ran ldp.exe to the DC over port 636 and the connection was successful.

What else could cause the error message? Any advice would be helpful as I am new to Fortigate administration, thank you.

16 REPLIES 16
funkylicious
SuperUser
SuperUser

I think that you need the server certificate of the AD server, exported and imported on the FGT and that should be selected as cert to secure the connection to the AD over 636.

As per, https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-Configuring-LDAP-over-SSL-LDAPS/ta-p/18997... , 

Configure LDAPS on the Microsoft Windows Certificate Authority server:

geek
geek
aw-sysadmin

From another forum post, I read that enabling LDAPS without defining a cert will still work, and that an error at that stage indicates a problem connecting to the LDAPS server over port 636, before indicating it's a problem with the certificate. However, I tried selecting the cert (exported from Intermediate CA) to secure the connection as well, and got the same error

dbu

Yes it is correct that LDAPS can work without defining a certificate.
Can you share output of command :

config user ldap

edit "LDAP" 

show

Regards!
If you have found a solution, please like and accept it to make it easily accessible for others.
aw-sysadmin
New Contributor II