Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
AmirZ12
New Contributor

Fortigate IPS

Hi,

Im very new to FG and would like to ask you guys..

1. is it possible to use IPS with certificate inspection (and not deep inspection) and if so what im I losing using just cert inspection.

2. Should i use IPSon every policy?

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
aahmadzada
Staff
Staff

Hi,

Since you are new to Fortigate, I would suggest checking this KB which describes best practices when it comes to the IPS: https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-IPs-best-practices/ta-p/198360
Without deep inspection, do not expect the IPS to detect the vulnerabilities, as they might be encrypted(with TLS for example), and without deep inspection you`ll not be able to check the payload of the packet in order to determine if the packet/traffic is matching the restrictions which are configured on the IPS profile.

Ahmad
Cajuntank
Contributor II

Just to add to this, this is the reason to implement WAF (web application firewall) for those internal web applications you are trying to protect. Since you cannot implement your certificate needed for DPI to everyone on the Internet, you can however, implement it on a WAF to decrypt that traffic for mitigation before it hits your internal web servers.