Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Goran
New Contributor

For the first time I'm trying to create Site to Site VPN between Fortinet and Watchguard

Hi everyone, first time posting here, as I just started with my Firewall journey and bought Fortinet 40F Fortiguard.

Basically I'm a noob, didn't work too much with Firewalls but I'm learning and trying.

I have two sites.
1st site: Fortinet
2nd site: Watchguard

I need to connect those two sites.

NO Public Static IPs:

1st site: Fortinet is using its build in DDNS

2nd site: I created DDNS with free public DDNS provider

What I did:

1. Went to "IPsec Tunnels" and created new "Custom" tunnel

2. Remote Gateway was set to be a Dynamic DNS. I figured out, after reading documentation, that this is DDNS for the other site so I typed it in

3. Interface that I'm using is wan1. wan1 is basically, as the name says, my go out to the internet port

4. The rest for "Network" in Edit VPN tunnel is left on default

Regarding authentication I just set Pre-Shared key with and typed simple password.

On IKE Version I choose 2.

Phase 1 Proposal:

- I left only AES256 for Encryption and SHA256 for Authentication. I removed any other encryption and authentication choices. Diffie-Helman group is 14

Phase 2 Selectors:

- I basically just typed in my local IP for Fortinet on "Local Address" and I typed in local Watchguard IP on "Remote address" with their subnets which are /24.

So basically, after I was done with this, I went to Policy & Objects > Firewall Policy

I added two Policies - first one:

name: VPN remote site

Incoming interface: internal - this is my lan 

Outgoing interface:  I choose the tunnel interface that I created on IPSec tunnel option.

Source:  4 all

Destination:  I created an address. I went to Network/Addresses and addes an address or a subnet with IP and its Netmask and I named it accordingly.

Service: ALL

Action: Accept