Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
dirome
New Contributor II

Enable detection mode

Hi eveyone,

I'm really new in the FortiDDoS, and I have some questions about implementation:

1. Where can I see the minimum threshold for each attack? 2. In "Adjust Minimum Threshold By Percentage" what means the value that is there (range 100 - 300%)? 3. How long the FortiDDoS take to have a baseline? 4. Before I set the prevention mode how can I see what will be block? 5. If something is block after prevention mode, how can I fix it?

2 REPLIES 2
SteveDDoS_FTNT

1) The system must learn and then Traffic Stats reports generated and System Recommendations Thresholds set before you will see any Thresholds.

2) This is used very seldom.  Once you have thresholds set, if you add another link, for example, and immediately see a doubling of your traffic, you can use this to double all thresholds (200%).

3) We usually ask for a week to capture a good profile of your traffic.

4) Once Thresholds are set, the system continues to learn traffic but also starts to show the drops that would happen if the system is in Prevention mode.  In Detection Mode, the system shows drops but never drops a packet.  In Prevention Mode, the drops are real. Even without Thresholds set, you will be seeing "drops" for anomalous packets. In Detection Mode, those will not be dropped. Since FortiDDoS inspects every packet, even single-packet anomalies are seen.

5) Thresholds that result in false positives in Prevention Mode can be manually changed at any time.  However, a fully configured system can be managing over 3.6million parameters, so you want to use Traffic Statistics and System Recommendations, then tune a few parameters as needed.  That is why FortiDDoS shows "drops" in Detection mode - you can tune parameters before moving to Prevention.