Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
phowardmhm
New Contributor

Blocking Log On Page from showing up

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to FortiGate firewalls so my apologies if my question seems novice.  I'm setting up my firewalls with Trusted Hosts but I wanted to see if it would be possible to block the log on page from showing up unless you're hitting it from on of the addresses in my "Trusted Hosts".  As if there is nothing there...  

Thanks in advance,

Pat

5 REPLIES 5
FortiAdam
Contributor II

Yes that is the idea of trusted hosts.  You shouldn't be able to see a log in page unless you are coming from an IP of a trusted host.  If you are seeing a log in page from an IP that is not listed as a trusted host then we need to troubleshoot further.

Christopher_McMullan

Another way to accomplish this would be to zero out the trusted hosts (return them to the defaults: no untrusted hosts) and use local-in policies to create one list of ACLs.

config firewall local-in-policy

edit 0

set intf wan1 //--or the interface you specify for incoming management traffic

set srcaddr <address_obj>

set dstaddr <address_obj>

set schedule <schedule_name>

set service <service>

set action {accept | deny}

set status enable

next

etc.

You can create a much more granular list this way, and avoid unexpected behavior, like pings being denied to users due to restrictions on management access to the GUI.

Regards, Chris McMullan Fortinet Ottawa

phowardmhm
New Contributor

Hello everyone,