Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
GrumpyGreg
New Contributor

Which Devices to use for my small service provider company

Hi, I am brand new here and I'm looking to replace my aging Cisco devices with Fortinet devices.  I looked around for the correct forum but I am unsure where I should post my questions and begin a discussion.

I have no (as in Zero) experience in Fortinet products, but I like what I've read and seen while doing some investigation.

I have a whole slew of questions about what to pick for the endpoints in the datacenter and for the client.  We're very small and have only a few clients.

What is the right forum for posting a thread to discuss my needs and get suggestions?  I don't mind doing this via PM type messages if that's the correct method but I don't even know where to start.  I don't know what tags to put on this either.

I am currently looking through the marketing materials, but my experience says those things don't provide the detailed answers I need to evaluate which devices to pick.

Thanks,

-greg

2 REPLIES 2
ede_pfau
SuperUser
SuperUser

Hi,

and welcome to the forums.

You're not totally off here, so this forum is as well suited as any. There are always experienced users out here willing to voice their opinions, and they will find this thread.

Choosing the "right" equipment totally hinges on what is "right" for your business and your customers' needs. So maybe you could line out your "must-haves" and "nice-to-haves" a bit.

Some of my personal views on this:

Fortigates in principle are very performant, or rather, the price/performance ratio is excellent.

FortiOS is flexible enough to fit in into nearly all networks/tasks I've encountered with my customers.

GUI and CLI config is quite easy to learn, and once you've got it going on one FGT you can manage all models.