Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
rlw
New Contributor

VM reboot reporting

I'm pretty new to Fortimonitor and have been learning quite a bit, it's definitely an improvement on what I've used in the past.

I've noticed however that when I add a VM manually, I can reboot it and the event passes unnoticed. I expect it's because it recovers so quickly, but maybe that's incorrect. My immediate next step was to add my VMware clusters as a full stack, but including the VMs at that time in that lets hundreds of VMs into the system that I don't care about. 

Does adding VMs under the aegis of vCenter provide a more favorable alert outcome, or should I expect to be informed if VMs added outside of vCenter are rebooted?

If using the full VMware integration is better, how can I add a VM manually so that I can be aware of the reboot?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
Stephen_G

Hello rlw,

Thank you for using the Community Forum. I will seek to get you an answer or help. We will reply to this thread with an update as soon as possible.

Thanks,

Stephen - Fortinet Community Team
MR_B
Staff
Staff

Hello,

@rlw wrote:

Does adding VMs under the aegis of vCenter provide a more favorable alert outcome, or should I expect to be informed if VMs added outside of vCenter are rebooted?

By default an agent instance has a 'hearbeat' alert that will trigger an incident if the agent doesn't report any metrics for 10 minutes. So, assuming your machine is able to reboot and begin reporting metrics again with the 10 minute window, there is no incident generated and therefore no alerts sent. You can adjust this from the details tab of the agent instance if you would like to have it alert more quickly. You can find documentation on how to do so here.