Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
winonawhiley
New Contributor

Slow Facebook down to " dial up speed"

We have a FWF40c (v4.0, build4054,111202 (MR3)) , we don’t have any of the Fortiguard services. All internal IP’s are static and we are not running Active Directory, just simple Windows authentication. There are a few people who are wasting time using Facebook during work hours. We cannot block the Internet, as these folks have to use the Internet to perform their jobs. Furthermore the boss does not want to block FB entirely, he wants to slow it down to dial up speed so people will get frustrated on their own and just stop using it, his thoughts not mine, but he’s the boss. So my mission is come up with a way to do this. Unfortunately I am a newbie in the networking world. Not sure where to start. My understanding is that Application Control only works with a subscription. Therefore, I was thinking of creating an IP Pool of 128.10.0.[201-209] these are the offenders. Create a FW Object for Facebook.com as a FQDN, then create a policy to shape traffic associated with the FW Object. Am I on the right track? Or can my boss’s assignment even be accomplished without subscriptions?
15 REPLIES 15
Dave_Hall
Honored Contributor

Therefore, I was thinking of creating an IP Pool of 128.10.0.[201-209] these are the offenders. Create a FW Object for Facebook.com as a FQDN, then create a policy to shape traffic associated with the FW Object. Am I on the right track? Or can my boss’s assignment even be accomplished without subscriptions?
This will work except you will need to create at least three FW FQDN objects (1) www.Facebook.com, 2) Facebook.com, 3) static.ak.fbcdn.net). (A Google seach or check the site info for a complete list of fqdns or IP block range that should be blocked.) For the traffic shaping, set the direction for both ways.