Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Wayupnorthguy
New Contributor III

Site to Site Fortigate private network over IPSEC, Allow SMTP outbound from single device

I have a private point to point network over IPSEC VPN.  I'm trying to allow only SMPT sendmail service from a single client on one end to a host on the Internet via the WAN interface.  I've created an outbound FW rule to allow SMTP port 25 to a FQDN (smtp.gmail.com) from the internal client with NAT enabled using the outside WAN interface IP.  I've also created an inbound rule allowing ALL traffic from smtp.gmail.com to that specific client.
I can telnet from the CLI to port 25 on the smtp server but I cannot do the same from the client.
I've enabled and disabled NAT on the inbound side with same results.
I'm pretty new to Fortigate but have experience with other firewall and policy products.

Jack of all trades, Master of none
1 Solution
Wayupnorthguy

I found that the FQDN address that I created resolved to a different IP then what I was using in the Telnet command.  When I changed that I was able to connect.  Bottom line is that if you have a client that cannot resolve addresses due to DNS being blocked...you have to use the known IP and that IP has to match the FQDN....or don't use FQDN and just put the IP address in.  Live and Learn.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
aionescu
Staff
Staff

Hi @Wayupnorthguy 

Welcome to the community!

Can you please explain the topology? Is the IPsec tunel between the client and the FortiGate or between the FortiGate and the SMTP server?  Since is google smtp I would expect it to be reachable via the Internet so the IPsec is between the client and the firewall. 

As always, looking at the traffic flow, we can get some insight on how it is handled by the firewall. 

While trying to telnet from the client you can run the following commands and share the output: