Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
landonious
New Contributor III

Security Events and AntiVirus

Hello. I'm very new to FortiNet products so please forgive me in advance. Under Security Events, on the summary page it says "No events" on everything, including AntiVirus. I have tested that the AntiVirus is working and logging events by going to eicar.org and trying to download their test files. If I click to view the AntiVirus logs, it does show those attempts were blocked. Why would it still show as "No events" in the summary? I tried changing to monitor instead of block, it lets the malware through and logs it, but that still does not show as a security event either.

The same thing goes for intrusion prevention. I see logs where connections were dropped to our webserver from the intrusion provention protocols, but they do not show as an event either in the summary.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

1 Solution
landonious
New Contributor III

Hello. So my issue seems to have been with the GLOBAL region website for FortiGate Cloud. I am not sure if they are having website issues. From Security Fabirc->Fabric Connectors->Logging & Analytics->Logging Settings->Cloud Logging I disconnected my account and then logged back in. When I did, I saw it had a domain option. I left it as Global since that is what it defaulted to and what the cloud website was using previously. It still didn't work. So I disconnected it again and this time chose US and now everything works exactly how it should. That website looks and controls differently than the GLOBAL website. But anyway, now everything is working exactly like I had expected. I am seeing the summary and it's showing plenty of events now. Hope this helps anyone that has this problem in the future.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
Sheikh
Staff
Staff

Hello @landonious