Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
NBhatti
New Contributor

SNAT not working on Firewall itself

Hi Guys, I am new to FortiNet family and trying to learn things. I am trying on a FortiGate 300D factory reset box with version 6.2.1. The configuration is simple where I have a VLAN interface which communicates to a Cisco 7201 over private IP address. Since Cisco 7201 does not support NAT, I have to SNAT my source IP to the default gateway (Router). The problem I am facing is that if I try to use FortiGate as a default gateway for internal LAN, everything works fine and I am able to do SNAT just fine. I am just not able to SNAT from the firewall itself. Have tried all sort of possible in/out interface, source/destination addresses. But my trace goes to my default gateway with private IP address without source nat.

FortiGate-300D # diag sniffer packet any 'host 1.1.1.1 and icmp' 4
interfaces=[any]
filters=[host 1.1.1.1 and icmp]
7.084324 wan out 10.99.99.39 -> 1.1.1.1: icmp: echo request
7.084326 port2 out 10.99.99.39 -> 1.1.1.1: icmp: echo request

Where as if I try to ping public IP from my LAN, SNAT works fine

FortiGate-300D # diag sniffer packet any 'host 1.1.1.1 and icmp' 4
interfaces=[any]
filters=[host 1.1.1.1 and icmp]
1.212742 vlan-101 in 10.2.20.100 -> 1.1.1.1: icmp: echo request
1.212876 wan out 103.83.89.39 -> 1.1.1.1: icmp: echo request
1.212878 port2 out 103.83.89.39 -> 1.1.1.1: icmp: echo request
1.237508 wan in 1.1.1.1 -> 103.83.89.39: icmp: echo reply
1.237516 vlan-101 out 1.1.1.1 -> 10.2.20.100: icmp: echo reply
1.237518 port1 out 1.1.1.1 -> 10.2.20.100: icmp: echo reply

This is my current SNAT policy which works for LAN only,

config firewall central-snat-map
    edit 1
        set orig-addr "vlan-101 address"
        set srcintf "vlan-101"
        set dst-addr "all"
        set dstintf "wan"
        set nat-ippool "103.83.89.39"
    next
end