Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
toku
New Contributor II

Routing issue on Fortigate setup.

Hello!

I'm new to FortiGate and experienced a roadblock during my setup.

I was trying to reach the VM from the public IP(my PC), but there was no response from the VM. Attached are the diagram and packet capture results from FortiGate.

diagram.JPG

Note:

1. The default route is going to an ASR router, but I want all incoming and outgoing traffic to go via the same specific interface on the firewall. (highlighted orange)

2. Static route cannot be used because the source IP can be anything.

3. Tried the policy route, but it didn't work :(

Kindly advise what could be the root cause.
If you need additional information, feel free to let me know!
Appreciate the comments!

1 Solution
toku
New Contributor II

8 REPLIES 8
srajeswaran
Staff
Staff

Can you enable Source NAT on the policy towards VM and test?

Regards,

Suraj

- Have you found a solution? Then give your helper a "Kudos" and mark the solution.

toku
New Contributor II

While i was doing trace, i found the following error:
id=20085 trace_id=19 func=ip_route_input_slow line=2264 msg="reverse path check fail, drop
Any idea what this means?
Thanks!
gfleming

This means the FortiGate is dropping the packet because the Source IP for the packet is not in a subnet that it has a route to on the interface it is coming in on.

In other words, if the packet has a source IP of 10.0.0.1 and it's coming in on the interface 'lan', the FortiGate will not forward it if it does not have a route to 10.0.0.0/24 via the 'lan' interface. This is reverse path forwarding and is a method of preventing IP spoofing.

Since you only pasted a snippet of the trace we do not know the whole story so it's hard to say. But chances are you have no route pointing Provider A for your PC's public IP address.

Cheers,
Graham
Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III