Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Moabdi
New Contributor

LDAP test user credential / invalid credential

Hi All,

I am new to FortiGate and i am doing a lab for LDAP I set up the LDAP server on the FG and the connection to the LDAP server is successful however, when I test a user credential on the LDAP it says invalid credential even though i am sure the credentials are correct. not sure where I can go from there? 

your help and guidance is much appreciated  

2 Solutions
amouawad
Staff
Staff

Most times I see this because of the incorrect Common Name Identifier. Try to use sAMAccountName for the Common Name Identifier in the LDAP server settings on the FortiGate.

View solution in original post

Faiza_Emam_Delhi
Contributor II

Hi,

If you are receiving an "invalid credential" error message when testing a user credential on the FortiGate LDAP server, there are a few things you can try:

1. Double-check the user credentials: Ensure that the username and password you are using to test the LDAP connection are correct. Make sure that there are no typos or errors in the username or password.

2. Verify LDAP server settings: Double-check the LDAP server settings on the FortiGate device, such as the server IP address, port number, and bind DN. Ensure that these settings match the LDAP server configuration.

3. Check LDAP server logs: Check the logs on the LDAP server to see if there are any error messages or authentication failures that may be causing the issue.

4. Test with a different user account: If you are still unable to authenticate with the LDAP server, try testing with a different user

Thanks & Regards,
Faizal Emam

View solution in original post

Thanks & Regards,Faizal Emam
4 REPLIES 4
Faiza_Emam_Delhi
Contributor II

Hello,