Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
koltyn
New Contributor

Fortigate VDOMs and MPLS

Hi everyone,

I am currently learning about VDOMs and have a hypothetical question. If you have a company with 10 locations, all connected with each other through MPLS, and only the headquarters has a Fortigate. Is there any benefit in making a separate VDOM for all 10 sites, and configure their VLANs on their own VDOM?

I am fairly new to Fortinet so a VDOM is new to me. Is there any reason to use VDOMs instead of just creating all the VLANs and policies in the default VDOM?

Is my understanding of a VDOM also correct, meaning is this the intended use of it or am I completely missing the point?

10.0.0.0.1 192.168.1.254
4 REPLIES 4
knagaraju
Staff
Staff

Hello koltyn,

In simple terms, a VDOM means dividing one physical FortiGate into multiple virtual FortiGate.
VDOM concept is similar to the concept of VLAN on a switch.
Coming to your requirement of connecting 10 branches to the same FortiGate (HUB).
If you configure one VDOM per branch then their policies, routing, and VLANs will be assigned to that specific VDOM. 
Except this, there are no other additional options.

For your requirement, one VDOM per branch can be configured. However by default on Fortigate 10VDOMs are supported without license.
If you want to configure more VDOMs then an additional license has to be purchased for VDOM.

Please let me know if you have any additional queries.

Regards
Nagaraju.

saneeshpv_FTNT

Hi,