Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
aolguin
New Contributor II

FortiGate Inspection mode used on the policy

Hello,

I am very new to FortiGate and I am studying for the Network Security Certification.  

I have the following question, which I am not able to confirm my answer on the internet. 

FortiGate - version 7.4.3

Say I configure a Firewall rule with:

• Inspection Mode as: Flow-based 
  • In the same Rule I add security profile >> Antivirus >> In the antivirus profile, feature set is configured as Proxy based. 

Does the above means that now the firewall rule will use Proxy-based mode for all the traffic? 

Thanks for your assistance. 

Aaron Olguin 

1 Solution
ozkanaltas

Hello @aolguin ,

In my opinion, this is related to the default profile. If you create a custom profile you will see can't use this profile with a not-matched policy. 

In my lab, I tried also that scenario. I think policy resumes working with flow mode. Because the antivirus profile warned me.

image.png

Some features (MAPI, SSH, CDR) need to proxy mode in the antivirus profile. If you resume with this configuration, these features will not work. 

If you have found a solution, please like and accept it to make it easily accessible to others.
NSE 4-5-6-7 OT Sec - ENT FW

View solution in original post

If you have found a solution, please like and accept it to make it easily accessible to others.NSE 4-5-6-7 OT Sec - ENT FW
5 REPLIES 5
ozkanaltas
Contributor III

Hello @aolguin ,

If you configure a proxy based on an antivirus profile, you can't use this profile with a flow-based policy. They should match. 

If you create a proxy-based policy. Yes, your matched all traffic with the rule, will processed in proxy mode.

If you have found a solution, please like and accept it to make it easily accessible to others.