Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
garrychapple
New Contributor II

FortiGate 60F dual Wan and Lan with Vlans

Hi, I am a bit of a novice so please bare with me. I have a FG60F and added a second internet service on Wan2. I want to be able to add a second Lan interface independent of the default Lan and use it for the office network, routing traffic from it out over Wan2. Policy routing can be used for this relatively easily I believe. The default Lan is configured on a vlan switch interface with a single vlan 20, and is connected to a Cisco switch via a trunk. The second Lan to be configured on a software switch interface using port 2 with vlan 30, and I would like to connect it to the same Cisco switch. The idea is to use the second Lan for the office network, isolating it, and maintain the default Lan which has multiple VPN's used for remote site CCTV viewing. My question is, can both FG Lan ports be connected to the same Cisco switch? To summarise: single Cisco switch, FortiGate with Wan1 & Wan2, Lan1 on Vlan switch using port1, Lan2 on software switch using port 2, Lan1 connected to switch via a trunk. I Want to connect Lan2 to the same switch using vlan 30 if possible? I have been advised that connecting both Lan ports will cause issues with the native vlan on the Cisco switch because each Lan interface would have its own vlan. Is this possible, and/or is there a better solution using a single switch, maybe a second Vdom on the FG60F? Hope my description isn't too messy!!! Cheers, Garry.

Garry D Chapple
Garry D Chapple
5 REPLIES 5
hbac
Staff
Staff

Hi @garrychapple

Is it better to separate your internal networks using VLAN. You can create VLAN subinterfaces under software or VLAN switch and put both port1 and port2 under the same software or VLAN switch. Users from one VLAN can't access other VLANs without a firewall policy. 

Regards, 

garrychapple
New Contributor II