Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
RodrigoAndrade
New Contributor

FortiAuthenticator RSSO with 802.1x and FortiGate

Regards,

I'm trying to create user authentication using the wired network. At the moment, I can get a person to connect to my switch and receive a box to authenticate themselves, and depending on their user group, they will enter VLAN X or VLAN Y. This is working.

My major issue is passing this information from FortiAuthenticator to FortiGate. Does anyone have any suggestions? I tried to do it through the Radius Accounting Proxy, but since I can't use the FAC as the source, I'm not succeeding (I'm trying using the Switch IP as the Source, and enabling accounting proxy at the switch, and FGT as the destination to my accounting proxy destination)

When I sniff on FortiGate at port 1813, I don't see anything besides the Switch sending the accounting to the FAC, so my problem is between FAC and FGT.

4 REPLIES 4
Markus_M
Staff
Staff

Hi Rodrigo,

if you have a FortiGate then I would suggest using RSSO on FortiAuthenticator and FSSO on the FortiGate. The FortiAuthenticator can "translate" RSSO to FSSO. It reads RSSO with the respective values to create user and IP info and forwards this to FortiGate via regular FSSO.

https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiAuthenticator/Solution-Guide-Fortinet-Solutions-RSSO-RADIUS-S...

Best regards,

Markus

RodrigoAndrade

Hello Markus,

Thanks for taking your time to reply!

I've seen this before, but in this case, it's using another Radius Server to authenticate the user and then, the FAC can accouting proxy this information by setting the Radius Server IP as the Proxy Source. In my case, I can't have this Radius Server, because the user authentication it's already be done by the FortiAuthenticator.

Markus_M

Hi Rodrigo,

Sorry I don't follow. Are you using FortiAuthenticator or another server for authentication?