Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
XxKevinxX
New Contributor

Creating a new subnet.

Hey all, I’m new to fortigate products and I’m trying to get a second subnet created. My first subnet is set up on lan hardware switch to port 1 which I have enabled some security policies that block all access to the internet and only allows me to configure my firewall. So my question is is how should I set up the second subnet? Incoming traffic from wan to the port I’m using and then create security policies for that subnet? Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance Kevin
4 REPLIES 4
Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

What model of FGT? Sounds like a small one like 40F since you said "lan" for the hard-switch. Are you realizing "lan" includes all internal ports? Then, did you separated the lan1(port1) port from the hard-switch?

Also as any FW appliances, by default, nothing is allowed unless you configure something with policies.

Then you wan to set up a lan network/subnet to allow out(internet)-to-in access? Unless you have a web-server, FTP server, or whatever other internet service servers, that shouldn't be configured. That generally require VIPs to make holes on the wall to let them come inside.

If you want to make the lan1 as your management port, you just needed to separate the interface from the lan hard-switch then the rest of lan ports stay in "lan" hard-switch so that you can use it as regular user ports. So that you can set in-to-out internet access policy. That should be already there by default for those smaller models.

XxKevinxX