Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
lincostinko
New Contributor

Creating Trunk and Access Ports in Transparent Mode

All,

I'd like to share my quick guide on creating trunk and access ports in transparent mode using a single virtual domain (VDOM).  I'm a FortiOS newbie but I think this is a working solution for those that are interested.

Some key pointers:

[ul]
  • Transparent mode allows FW to be essentially a L2 switch (might need to enable stpforward, etc., to talk to other switches but that's beyond the scope of this article)
  • The functions of VLAN tagging (trunks) and VLAN traffic forwarding (trunk and access ports) are separated in FortiOS.  vlanid [number] affects how outgoing packets are tagged.  forward-domain [number] assigns ports in a broadcast domain and does the "VLAN" traffic separation we're all used to from Cisco.
  • To create a trunk port, you create a VLAN "interface" (for lack of a better word), add a vlanid and forward-domain for tagging and traffic separation, and assign it to a physical interface.  To add another VLAN on that trunk, you create another VLAN "interface" using the same method (different vlanid and forward-domain numbers, of course) but assign it to the SAME physical interface.
  • To create an access port, simply assign the same forward-domain to the desired physical interface.  The traffic will be forwarded but untagged.[/ul]

Here is an example of this on an FG-140D, with ports 1-20 on VLAN 10, ports 21-34 on VLAN 20, and ports 35-36 as a port-channel trunk: