Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
julianhaines
New Contributor

Changing the current VPN to allow better Web Filtering

Currently I have a FortiGate VPN setup, and all connected users are getting the same web filtering, what I am trying to do is setup so I can give VPN users different Web Filtering based on their AD group.

I currently do this for users not using the VPN but cannot find a way for doing this for VPN connected users, when I try to create a new Firewall Policy, I get the error below.

I am new to FortiGate’s so not sure of the correct way of doing this? I have done some googling but yet to find how I should be setting it up.

I need to do without disrupting current VPN access if possible as used 24/7.

Setup:
• FortiGate FGT200F Cluster version 7.2
• VPN setup to allow remote connections with 2-factor, LDAP AD authorisation.
• VPN is setup as Split Tunnel.

Firewall Policy to allow VPN traffic into LAN.
• Name: SSLVPN to LAN

• Interfaces: SSL.Root -> LAN.
• Source: SSLVPN_TUNNEL_ADDRESS & Radius Server
• Dest: LAN-Data
• Service: All

Firewall Policy to allow VPN traffic out to Internet.
• Name: SSLVPN to Internet

• Interfaces: SSL.Root -> Virtual-Wan-Link.
• Source SSLVPN_TUNNEL_ADDRESS & Radius Server
• Dest: All
• Service: All
• Security Profile: Web Filter

Error when trying to create another VPN traffic out.
• Destination address of split tunnelling policy is invalid.
• SSL-VPN portal "tunnel-access-split" has split tunnel enabled.
• Which does not allow policy IPv4 destination address to be all.
• Object check operator error, -2008, discard the setting.

4 REPLIES 4
pminarik
Staff
Staff

By default, a split-tunnel VPN profile gathers the list of "split routes" by scraping the destination addresses from relevant firewall policies. This is why by default the GUI will sometimes block creation of an SSL-VPN policy with destination=all.