Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
dawid_chrzan
New Contributor

proxyworker high CPU usage

Hi

to begin with - i am new to Fortigate :)

We have 90D in test lab with one laptop for now.

Firmware Versionv5.2.5,build701

WAN connection is 100mbps.

When downloading - one http session - big file 650MB tar.gz file  CPU of our fortigate goes 95-99%.

diag sys top - show that it is proxyworker that consumes all of cpu

I use web filter default profile.

Is it normal that cpu is so high ?

7 REPLIES 7
Danilo_Mastantuono
New Contributor

Hi Dawid,

I remember that I had a similar error when I had upgraded to firmware 5.2.5.

Do you have policies using SSL Inspection Profile with Full SSL Inspection and inspecting all ports?

I could solve this issue changing my profile to:

Inspection Method: SSL certificate Inspection 

These setting are located in Policy & Objects -> SSL Inspection.

I did not receive any errors and high CPU after doing this.

dawid_chrzan

Hi

regardles what SSL Inspection Profile i use - certificate-inspection or deep-inspection - it is the same CPU effect 99%.

It does not affect CPU even i turn OFF SSL Inspection at all.

What doese make a difference is turning OFF web fitler.

dawid_chrzan
New Contributor

Today i noticed that when i turn OFF all except Webfilter in Policy

and start to download 1,4GB TAR.GZ file - then CPU is 99%

but when i start to download 1,4GB text file = cpu is 5%

tgo

I have also the same problem.

proxyworker is crashed periodically. (cpu util  is also almost 100%)

Did you solve the problem?

If so, Please let me know.

Gianluca_Caldi
New Contributor

Hi,